Samurai Nicknames, Monikers, Aliases, and Pseudonyms

posted by  banzaitokyo | 7 years, 10 months ago

When I studied abroad in Japan I was not the only Adam in my program, so in an effort to differentiate my friends dubbed me “Megane,” due to my spectacular specs. Nicknames are quite common in English speaking countries, and Japan is no different – well, maybe a little different. Nicknames may be big in Japan, but verbal irony is not, so you’re not likely to have a portly pal named Slim, a big buddy named Tiny, or an unfortunate uncle named Lucky. Still, Japan has a long history of nicknames, and some of the coolest were given to various samurai over the centuries. This article will look at a few of the most interesting samurai nicknames, and examine their origins and significance.

God of War, Dragon of Echigo

Let’s begin with a warlord of the Sengoku period (1467-1603), a century of samurai civil war. Uesugi Kenshin (1530-1578), was lord of Echigo in northwestern Honshu (Japan’s largest island). He was born into a vassal family of the Uesugi as Nagao Kagetora, but several battles and name changes later he had become Uesugi Kenshin, head of the clan.

Photo by Wally Gobetz